2022 World Cup Betting Guide

2022 Fifa World Cup Betting Guide

Okay, the 2022 FIFA World Cup might be a while away yet (Winter 2022), but with the main football tournaments on hold at the moment we thought we’d take a quick look ahead to see how the betting is panning out.

2022 World Cup Dates: 21st November-18th December 2022

2022 World Cup Hosts: Qatar

2022 World Cup Final Date: 18th December 2022

The 2022 Fifa World Cup will be held in the Arab world – in Qatar – for the first time and with the heat of that part of the world during the summer months, we’ll also see the tournament being held in the winter months of November and December.

Fifa World Cup History

Current World Cup Winners: France
Most Successful World Cup Team: Brazil (5 wins)
First World Cup: 1930
Number Of Different World Cup Winning Nations: 8

With the Football World Cup first being staged in 1930, we’ve seen 23 tournaments as World War Two meant there were no events from 1942 till 1946. However, despite having 23 different competitions we’ve only had eight different nations winning the FIFA World Cup.

Brazil are the most successful team with five wins (see below), with Italy and Germany next best with four titles each.

Argentina, France, who are the current champions and Uruguay all have two Fifa World Cup wins to their name, while England and Spain make up the eight World Cup winning nations with one win each.

The current champions – France – ran out the 4-2 winners over Croatia in the 2018 finals, that were staged in Russia – that was their second win since 1998.

In the last five tournaments we’ve seen five different nations win, while the last country to win the FIFA World Cup back-to-back was Brazil in 1958 and 1962 – something France will be trying to emulate.

2022 FIFA World Cup Betting   

At the time of writing (March 2020), it’s the FIFA World Cup outright betting market is tight. Most bookmakers have the current champions – France – as the favourites at around 5/1, but if you shop around then they are as big as 6/1 and 7/1 with certain firms.

The five-time winners – Brazil – are a similar price in the FIFA World Cup outright betting markets too. The Samba men are also priced between 5/1 and 7/1, depending on who you bet with, while next best is Germany at around 8/1.

If you fancy Spain to repeat their 2010 World Cup win, then you’ll generally be rewarded at odds that range from 6/1 to 9/1.

England, Belgium, who are yet to win the World Cup, and Argentina are all next best in the World Cup outright betting market. England are priced between 8/1 and 12/1, Belgium are 9/1 to 12/1, while Argentina are 8/1 to 12/1.

Of the rest, the Netherlands are on offer at 14/1 to 18/1, while other outsiders of interest would be Italy (14/1 – 20/1), Portugal (16/1 -33/1) and Croatia (22/1 – 40/1)

How Do The World Cup Hosts Fare?

Finally, the hosts generally have a good record in the FIFA World Cup – of the 23 tournaments we’ve actually seen 6 host nations win. That’s a decent 26% return.

So, if you fancy this stat to be upheld then you might want to have a dabble on the 2022 World Cup hosts – Qatar – who are currently priced around 100/1 to 150/1!

Note: Odds are subject to change

FIFA World Cup Past Winners, Results and Stats

YearHostChampionRunner UpThird PlaceTeamsMatches PlayedGoals ScoredAvg Goals Per Game
2010South AfricaSpainNetherlandsGermany32641452.3
2002South Korea, JapanBrazilGermanyTurkey32641612.5
1994United StatesBrazilItalySweden24521412.7
1990ItalyWest GermanyArgentinaItaly24521152.2
1986MexicoArgentinaWest GermanyFrance24521322.5
1982SpainItalyWest GermanyPoland24521462.8
1974West GermanyWest GermanyNetherlandsPoland1638972.6
1970MexicoBrazilItalyWest Germany1632953.0
1966EnglandEnglandWest GermanyPortugal1632892.8
1954SwitzerlandWest GermanyHungaryAustria16261405.4
1930UruguayUruguayArgentinaUnited States1316703.6